oldgrumpy
Member of DD Central
Posts: 5,087
Likes: 3,233
|
Post by oldgrumpy on Sept 11, 2015 9:13:24 GMT
At 10:10 on Friday 11 September OG says there are now 11 loans on his list with targets above his holdings, parts available, and which his MLIA has not bought.
Despite this, MLIA with QAA does seem to be buying all sorts of bits, and also when I sell a loan part, the proceeds are being automatically routed into the QAA, thus replenishing it.
|
|
|
Post by chris on Sept 11, 2015 9:23:25 GMT
I've tracked down the issue that was breaking things. The single user who was blocking the aftermarket for the loans they were trying to invest in was also breaking the queue of funds waiting to get into the QAA which was causing anything that tried to bring funds from the queue into the QAA pool to break whenever it got as far as their entry.
Their queue entry somehow managed to commit to investing funds that were no longer in their account and that threw the system. I've added an additional check to make sure that each time the queue is processed each entry is checked against the currently available funds. As far as I can tell the lender's queue entry got into this state due to a race condition I hadn't accounted for. A race condition is where two operations happen in parallel that affect the same piece of data, and the order in which they occur affects the outcome in a way that it shouldn't - such as two operations affecting the balance with the first adding funds and then adding them to the queue but a second transaction taking those funds away in the time between the funds being added and then being credited to the queue.
Resolving this has unstuck all the operations I've just tested and appears to have allowed the aftermarket to resume trading on all the loans it's tried thus far.
|
|
oldgrumpy
Member of DD Central
Posts: 5,087
Likes: 3,233
|
Post by oldgrumpy on Sept 11, 2015 9:31:25 GMT
Nice one chris I owe you a banana. It's certainly given a major jostle to all those "stuck" situations I reported a few minutes ago; there are now no instances of me wanting (and failing) to buy available parts. Also I have suddenly sold a feew bits (which were presumably similarly stuck) and there's more in my QAA than I had yesterday*. edit * oh, no there isn't. It's being held in the MLIA as cash because QAA is full up
|
|
|
Post by chris on Sept 11, 2015 9:36:14 GMT
Nice one chris I owe you a banana. It's certainly given a major jostle to all those "stuck" situations I reported a few minutes ago; there are now no instances of me wanting (and failing) to buy available parts. Also I have suddenly sold a feew bits (which were presumably similarly stuck) and there's more in my QAA than I had yesterday. People should also be able to change their QAA settings without error, withdraw funds from it, etc. Such a huge knock on effect for what was a tiny error requiring two lines of code to fix. But race conditions aren't something you can always test for as you're talking about timing effects measured in microseconds. Sorry I didn't get it fixed yesterday. By the time I got home from the board meeting I was absolutely pooped and didn't trust myself to make any coding changes.
|
|
|
Post by msa on Sept 11, 2015 9:38:09 GMT
I've tracked down the issue that was breaking things. The single user who was blocking the aftermarket for the loans they were trying to invest in was also breaking the queue of funds waiting to get into the QAA which was causing anything that tried to bring funds from the queue into the QAA pool to break whenever it got as far as their entry. Their queue entry somehow managed to commit to investing funds that were no longer in their account and that threw the system. I've added an additional check to make sure that each time the queue is processed each entry is checked against the currently available funds. As far as I can tell the lender's queue entry got into this state due to a race condition I hadn't accounted for. A race condition is where two operations happen in parallel that affect the same piece of data, and the order in which they occur affects the outcome in a way that it shouldn't - such as two operations affecting the balance with the first adding funds and then adding them to the queue but a second transaction taking those funds away in the time between the funds being added and then being credited to the queue. Resolving this has unstuck all the operations I've just tested and appears to have allowed the aftermarket to resume trading on all the loans it's tried thus far. Hi Chris, can you please advise how I can withdraw Money from the "Awaiting Investment" funds in the QAA? I cannot find a button or other means to do so. Thanks.
|
|
|
Post by msa on Sept 11, 2015 9:41:14 GMT
I've tracked down the issue that was breaking things. The single user who was blocking the aftermarket for the loans they were trying to invest in was also breaking the queue of funds waiting to get into the QAA which was causing anything that tried to bring funds from the queue into the QAA pool to break whenever it got as far as their entry. Their queue entry somehow managed to commit to investing funds that were no longer in their account and that threw the system. I've added an additional check to make sure that each time the queue is processed each entry is checked against the currently available funds. As far as I can tell the lender's queue entry got into this state due to a race condition I hadn't accounted for. A race condition is where two operations happen in parallel that affect the same piece of data, and the order in which they occur affects the outcome in a way that it shouldn't - such as two operations affecting the balance with the first adding funds and then adding them to the queue but a second transaction taking those funds away in the time between the funds being added and then being credited to the queue. Resolving this has unstuck all the operations I've just tested and appears to have allowed the aftermarket to resume trading on all the loans it's tried thus far. Hi Chris, can you please advise how I can withdraw Money from the "Awaiting Investment" funds in the QAA? I cannot find a button or other means to do so. Thanks. Please also explain how it is possible that yesterday part of my money I transferred has been invested into the QAA whilst some part is "Awaiting Investment", somehow suggesting that I was the last one to invest before the 1mio cap was reached and a part of my money exceeding the cap, i.e. one should assume that I would be first in the queue to get my "Awaiting Investment" money into the QAA once it is below the 1 mio cap again which it has been a few times now, yet none of my "Awaiting Investment" Money has been deployed. Thanks.
|
|
|
Post by chris on Sept 11, 2015 9:41:32 GMT
I've tracked down the issue that was breaking things. The single user who was blocking the aftermarket for the loans they were trying to invest in was also breaking the queue of funds waiting to get into the QAA which was causing anything that tried to bring funds from the queue into the QAA pool to break whenever it got as far as their entry. Their queue entry somehow managed to commit to investing funds that were no longer in their account and that threw the system. I've added an additional check to make sure that each time the queue is processed each entry is checked against the currently available funds. As far as I can tell the lender's queue entry got into this state due to a race condition I hadn't accounted for. A race condition is where two operations happen in parallel that affect the same piece of data, and the order in which they occur affects the outcome in a way that it shouldn't - such as two operations affecting the balance with the first adding funds and then adding them to the queue but a second transaction taking those funds away in the time between the funds being added and then being credited to the queue. Resolving this has unstuck all the operations I've just tested and appears to have allowed the aftermarket to resume trading on all the loans it's tried thus far. Hi Chris, can you please advise how I can withdraw Money from the "Awaiting Investment" funds in the QAA? I cannot find a button or other means to do so. Thanks. Bottom right hand corner of the QAA box. There's a "Withdraw" button.
|
|
|
Post by chris on Sept 11, 2015 9:45:48 GMT
Please also explain how it is possible that yesterday part of my money I transferred has been invested into the QAA whilst some part is "Awaiting Investment", somehow suggesting that I was the last one to invest before the 1mio cap was reached and a part of my money exceeding the cap, i.e. one should assume that I would be first in the queue to get my "Awaiting Investment" money into the QAA once it is below the 1 mio cap again which it has been a few times now, yet none of my "Awaiting Investment" Money has been deployed. Thanks. It depends on how you invested it. If you had the funds automatically invested straight from your cash account and then transferred the funds into the QAA to invest directly that would actually end up uninvesting the funds and placing them to the back of the queue waiting to get into the QAA. Yesterday there was also a bug which was preventing the queue from investing properly which has now been resolved. This may have also played a part. The aftermarket is now up and running in full again which should hopefully cause some churn in the QAA as lender funds are deployed, so queued funds should slowly shuffle into the account. We're also debating upping the £1m cap.
|
|
caesium
Member of DD Central
Posts: 86
Likes: 35
|
Post by caesium on Sept 11, 2015 9:47:05 GMT
Nice one chris I owe you a banana. It's certainly given a major jostle to all those "stuck" situations I reported a few minutes ago; there are now no instances of me wanting (and failing) to buy available parts. Also I have suddenly sold a feew bits (which were presumably similarly stuck) and there's more in my QAA than I had yesterday. People should also be able to change their QAA settings without error Confirmed, can now change my Invest Idle Funds Action, thanks.
|
|
SteveT
Member of DD Central
Posts: 6,875
Likes: 7,924
|
Post by SteveT on Sept 11, 2015 10:06:42 GMT
Now that the supreme technical challenge of making the same money go round and round in ever decreasing circles has been cracked, could AC please focus management attention back onto the core objective of writing some new loans? I'm struggling to remember when the last new loan draw-down took place (sometime in the late 1980s was it?) but I've got all my fingers and toes crossed that there might be another before Xmas
|
|
|
Post by chris on Sept 11, 2015 10:08:35 GMT
Now that the supreme technical challenge of making the same money go round and round in ever decreasing circles has been cracked, could AC please focus management attention back onto the core objective of writing some new loans? I'm struggling to remember when the last new loan draw-down took place (sometime in the late 1980s was it?) but I've got all my fingers and toes crossed that there might be another before Xmas We're painfully aware, and my fellow directors are all focussed on drawing down the loans we've already funded as well as closing and funding the next round.
|
|
|
Post by yorkshireman on Sept 11, 2015 10:24:51 GMT
Still think Chris is doing a great job guys? Don't forget it is your money they are screwing around with! Speaking from experience, it’s wrong to have a key person tied up in a meeting when a major operational event is taking place. Whilst they should delegate to their subordinates they also need to have their finger on the pulse of the real world and not engaged in, what in my experience, are sometimes no more than all talk and no action and merely a stage for some individuals to preen their egos whilst playing politics. As I have said elsewhere, many company directors and not a few IT departments have no concept of the operational or production side of a business. I'm not saying this happens at AC or attacking individuals but as I said elsewhere, if the cap fits, wear it.
|
|
|
Post by hayhurst on Sept 11, 2015 10:32:18 GMT
Any update on allowing the sale of those loans with monitoring and credit events Chris?
|
|
niceguy37
Member of DD Central
Posts: 504
Likes: 254
|
Post by niceguy37 on Sept 11, 2015 11:05:41 GMT
I notice a very minor bug. I had £9 in my Cash Account (held in the QAA). When I transfer £2 to the MLIA, the Cash Balance then shows zero (this is the cash balance, since the £7 is held in the QAA). If I refresh the screen it now correctly shows £7.
|
|
mikes1531
Member of DD Central
Posts: 6,453
Likes: 2,320
|
Post by mikes1531 on Sept 11, 2015 11:38:53 GMT
The aftermarket is now up and running in full again which should hopefully cause some churn in the QAA as lender funds are deployed, so queued funds should slowly shuffle into the account. We're also debating upping the £1m cap. This is working for me. Earlier this morning I received a couple of loan repayments. Because the QAA was at its £1M limit, the result was more idle money in my MLIA than in my QAA. Then at 1220, someone else must have taken enough money out of their QAA that my queued money was able to move to the front of the queue and get into the QAA. So now my MLIA and QAA cash balances match.
|
|